minnesotakmfk.blogg.se

Lucille cook fever 1793
Lucille cook fever 1793













lucille cook fever 1793 lucille cook fever 1793

“That’s all right,” I said, a ridiculous smile on my face. “Much better now that I’ve found you,” he said. Don’t be a ninny.Ī slow smile spread across his face. Think of something intelligent, I commanded myself.

lucille cook fever 1793

I wanted to throw my arms around him, or jump up and down, or. “I hoped I might find you here,” a low voice rumbled in my ear. I could read, write, and figure numbers faster than most. I was Matilda Cook, daughter of Lucille, granddaughter of Captain William Farnsworth Cook, of the Pennsylvania Fifth Regiment. The shape of my face looked for all the world like Mothers, her nose, her mouth.Ī scullery maid? Ridiculous. Yellow fever had certainly done away with vanity. My face looked back at me from the thick glass. I looked past the apple seller to the haberdasher’s window behind him. I’d get work as a scullery maid, or move into the orphanage and do laundry. If Mother was dead, I’d have to sell the coffeehouse, or have the orphans court sell it for me. Part of me did not want to know what had happened. I looked over a selection of bruised apples. What now? Should I travel to the Ludingtons’ farm? Wait in town a few more days? My shopping was done and I had questioned everyone about Mother, but still I lingered, caught between wanting to leave and wanting to stay until I could sort out the thoughts battling in my head. Nell, Robert, and William deserved the best. I was so vigilant that I tasted several pieces. I had to taste the candy, of course, to make sure it was not stale. Though my basket was full, I found room for a sack of hard candy and a small loaf of sugar. I paid very low prices for peaches, carrots, and beets. Epler had anything to do with it.Īll the farmers were cheerful and generous. The news would be halfway to New York by nightfall if Mrs. Epler said, bobbing her head up and down. But please, ask folks if they’ve seen her.” Epler, I’ll be fine.” I unwrapped her arms from me. “You poor child!” She pulled me close and squeezed me hard, her head barely as high as my shoulder. Here, two fat hens for you and your family. You look just like your mother, she works so hard.















Lucille cook fever 1793